PLAN Annual Meeting (Virtual)

Map Unavailable

Date/Time
Date(s) - 11/06/2020
9:00 am CST - 12:00 pm CST


All library staff are welcome to join us for the PLAN Annual Meeting.

Register for Annual Meeting

TENTATIVE AGENDA

9 AM CT / 10 AM ET
PLAN Staff Reports

  • Charles Mayberry, Executive Director
  • Carol DeMent, Assistant Director
  • Regina Burgess, Manager of Continuing Education Services

10 AM CT / 11 AM ET
Business Meeting

  • Election of Board of Directors

10:15 AM CT / 11:15 AM ET
Break

10:30 AM CT / 11:30 AM ET
Management and Leadership in Hard Times — This panel discussion will focus on the leadership traits and management skills needed to succeed in hard times. The panelists will share their knowledge and experience responding to hard times such as the current pandemic; hurricanes and other natural disasters; severe budget cuts; and other crises that required wise leadership and effective management. Attendees will have the opportunity to ask the panel questions.

Discussion topics will include:

  • Management skills and leadership traits needed to succeed in hard times
  • Effects on staff from prolonged stress and how to deal with it
  • Layoffs, furloughs, and budget cuts
  • Re-tooling services, processes, and spaces in the library
  • The challenges of managing staff working from home and its effect on productivity and morale
  • Communication challenges with staff, library users, peers in other libraries, and more

Panelists:

  • Valerie Boulos, Associate Dean, Resource Management & Discovery Services, Florida State University Libraries
  • Debra Sears, Director, Leroy Collins Leon County Public Library
  • Alvin Lee, Instructor, Librarian/Scholarly Communications & Resource Sharing, Coleman Library. Florida A&M University
  • Renae Rountree, Director, Washington County Public Library
  • Charles Mayberry (Moderator), Executive Director, Panhandle Library Access Network

12 Noon CT / 1 PM ET
Adjourn Annual Meeting

12:15 PM CT / 1:15 PM ET
Board of Directors Meeting

Register for Annual Meeting

For FY2020-21, 83% of the total costs for the PLAN Continuing Education program ($220,000) is supported by federal money and 17% of this program ($44,000) is supported by local money. The total budget of the project is $264,000.