PLAN FLA Mini Conference (Virtual)

Map Unavailable

Date/Time
Date(s) - 08/14/2020
9:00 am CDT - 4:00 pm CDT


Download handouts

ONLINE WORKSHOP: Homeless Training Institute with Ryan Dowd: Do you have patrons who bring in too many bags? Smell really bad? Panhandle in your library? Argue with you and other patrons? This 4-hour training is much more than simple “sensitivity training.”

You will learn why homeless individuals do what they do and the practical tools for resolving problems. There is a special focus on mentally ill and/or addicted patrons. After this training, you will have more confidence with homeless patrons.

This training is based on the ALA book, The Librarian’s Guide to Homelessness.

Ryan Dowd has spent most of his career as Executive Director of Hesed House, a large homeless shelter outside of Chicago, Illinois. In addition to running the shelter, Ryan trains organizations around the world how to compassionately manage problematic behavior from troubled individuals. His book, The Librarian’s Guide to Homelessness, was published by the American Library Association. Ryan is a licensed attorney and has a Master’s of Public Administration.

Note: This training will not be recorded and is open to PLAN member libraries only.

We’ll end the day with virtual “roundtable” discussions on various topics, such as include Youth Programming, Adult Programming, Outreach and Marketing, Collection Development, Safety and Security, Advocacy, Disaster Planning and Recovery, and COVID-19. After you register for the virtual discussions session, your confirmation email will ask you to choose the topic you want to discuss.

Register for the Homeless Training Institute workshop

Register for the virtual discussions

AGENDA

9 a.m. CT / 10 a.m. ET: Workshop Part 1
11 a.m. CT / 12 noon ET: Lunch
12:00 noon CT / 1 p.m. ET: Workshop Part 2
2 p.m. CT / 3 p.m. ET: Break
2:15 p.m. CT / 3:15 p.m. ET: Q&A Session with Ryan Dowd
3 p.m. CT / 4 p.m. ET: Break
3:15 p.m. CT / 4:15 p.m. ET: Virtual Discussions

 

 

For FY2020-21, 83% of the total costs for the PLAN Continuing Education program ($220,000) is supported by federal money and 17% of this program ($44,000) is supported by local money. The total budget of the project is $264,000.