PLAN Tech Day Conference (Virtual)

Map Unavailable

Date/Time
Date(s) - 09/11/2020
8:00 am CDT - 3:30 pm CDT


Recordings:

All recordings are now available on our webinar recordings page.

Handouts:

Tools to Survive the Datapocalypse with Joshua Stone

Playaway Audio, Wonderbooks, and Launchpads:

Slide Presentations:

Immersive Technologies in Libraries with Chad Mairn

Blockchain in Libraries with Michael Meth

Keynote 8:00 a.m. CT / 9:00 a.m. ET

Evolving Technologies in Libraries with Laura Solomon: Like most of us who pay even a little attention to recent developments in technology, you’re likely overwhelmed by the sheer amount of information and progress. With so much coming at us so fast, keeping up can be a challenge. Do some technologies deserve more attention than others? Join Laura Solomon as she explores what’s coming down the pike and what it might mean (or not) for libraries. We can’t track everything, but we can pick out some patterns in what’s happening around us.

Laura Solomon, MLS, is the Library Services Manager for the Ohio Public Library Information Network and a W3C-certified front-end web developer. She has been doing web development and design for more than twenty years, in both public libraries and as an independent consultant. She specializes in developing with Drupal. She is a 2010 Library Journal Mover & Shaker. She’s written three books about social media and content marketing, specifically for libraries, and speaks nationally on both these and technology-related topics. As a former children’s librarian, she enjoys bringing the “fun of technology” to audiences and in giving libraries the tools they need to better serve the virtual customer.

Break 9:30 a.m. CT / 10:30 a.m. ET

Sessions

9:45 a.m. CT / 10:45 a.m. ET

Tools to Survive the Datapocalypse with Joshua Stone: Almost every day we learn about new data breaches, surveillance programs, corporate tracking, and social media exploitations. Is privacy a relic of the past? We are told that if you want the conveniences of our modern age, you must be willing to give up your privacy. There are ways to participate in digital society while protecting yourself from those that wish to spy on you. This presentation will showcase privacy and security tools to help people keep their privacy online. Learn about the importance of using password managers and two-factor authentication, secure browsers and privacy extensions, encrypted messaging and file sharing, and privacy resources to help stay informed and up-to-date. Participants are encouraged to bring their own devices in order to try out any of the exciting privacy tools discussed. Librarians can use these tips and tools to help protect themselves, and their patrons.

Joshua Stone is the Director of Staff Development for SEFLIN, the Southeast Florida Library Information Network. Joshua has over a decade of experience teaching technology courses to patrons and library staff. He is a graduate of the inaugural cohort of the Library Freedom Institute, a partnership between New York University and the Library Freedom Project to set up a network of online privacy advocates and trainers. Joshua has presented on digital privacy and security issues at multiple library conferences, and oversees a group of privacy trainers and advocates in South Florida.

Break 10:45 a.m. CT / 11:45 a.m. ET

11:00 a.m. CT / 12 noon ET

Immersive Technologies in Libraries with Chad Mairn: Immersive Technologies imitate or extend our physical world via digital simulations to give us the sense of being completely absorbed into something. Spatial computing is a new form of immersive technology that combines computer vision and artificial intelligence to integrate visual content into the real world around us. In this session:

  • Understand Immersive Technologies and see how they will impact everything ranging from education to entertainment.
  • Learn the differences between virtual, augmented, and mixed realities to introduce Spatial Computing.
  • Hear about the tools, devices, and platforms creating these new experiences.
  • Discuss potential issues these technologies may have when used in learning and teaching.
  • See what libraries can do to make use of immersive technologies to create new user experiences.

Chad Mairn is a librarian, teacher, author, and self-described geek who frequently shares his enthusiasm for ‘all-things technology’ as a speaker at library and technology conferences. He is an Information Services Librarian, Assistant Professor, and manages the Innovation Lab at St. Petersburg College. Chad has written a couple of book chapters and numerous articles on library technologies. In 2016, Chad was awarded the League of Innovation Excellence Award in Teaching and Learning for Innovation in the Use of Technology! Chad plays drums in Low Season and he also co-organizes Gulf Coast Maker and Comic Con, which has been held at the St. Petersburg College Seminole Campus since 2014.

Lunch 12:00 noon CT / 1 p.m. ET

Playaway Audio, Wonderbooks, and Launchpads Presentation
12:30 p.m. CT to 12:50 p.m. CT / 1:30 p.m. ET to 1:50 p.m. ET
Glenn Kasofsky from Playaway will provide information on these products for those who want to attend.

1:00 p.m. CT / 2:00 p.m. ET

Blockchain in Libraries with Michael Meth: In this session participants will learn about core principles underlying blockchain technology, key terminology, and how the blockchain may be used in libraries. No prior blockchain knowledge is required.

Michael Meth is the associate dean, research and learning services at the Florida State University Libraries. He enjoys learning and teaching about many things which led him to an exploration of blockchain and how this technology can be utilized in libraries. He published a Library Technology Report (ALA) on blockchain (November 2019) and is currently working on some research projects related to blockchain. Michael frequently presents at conferences, writes the occasional article or chapter, and co-founded the Panhandle Academic Libraries Conference in 2019.

Break 2:00 p.m. CT / 3:00 p.m. ET

2:15 p.m. CT / 3:15 p.m. ET

FLIN SHAREit — Statewide Resource Sharing Platform with Cathy Moloney, Sarah Shaw, and Alexandra Winzeler: FLIN SHAREit is the new statewide resource sharing platform recently acquired by the Division of Library and Information Services. This platform will display participating libraries’ catalogs to patrons, no matter what ILS is in use, allow patrons to request returnable and nonreturnable items and download MARC records. Auto-Graphics, the vendor for SHAREit, will present a demonstration.

Cathy Moloney is the chief of the Division’s Bureau of Library and Network Services. She has been involved in helping to coordinate statewide resource sharing for 15 years. Sarah Shaw is a Library Technical Assistant and Interlibrary Loans Coordinator at the Division’s State Library of Florida. She performs circulation services and connects state employees across the state to resources and materials so they may better serve Florida’s citizens. Alexandra Winzeler is the Auto-Graphics Project Lead working with the Division to implement FLIN SHAREit.

Closing 3:15 p.m. CT / 4:15 p.m. ET

For FY2020-21, 83% of the total costs for the PLAN Continuing Education program ($220,000) is supported by federal money and 17% of this program ($44,000) is supported by local money. The total budget of the project is $264,000.