The Price is Wrong: How to Get the Best Deals for Your Library

Date/Time
Date(s) - 04/08/2022
9:00 am CDT - 2:00 pm CDT

Location
Florida Virtual Campus


Join us for this two-part workshop and learn how to save your library money!

9:30 AM to 10 AM ET (8:30 AM to 9 AM CT)
Breakfast provided by PLAN

10 AM to 12 PM ET (9 AM to 11 AM CT)
Florida Procurement Guidance with Amy Johnson (Director, Division of Library and Information Services) and Cathy Moloney (Chief, Bureau of Library and Network Services, Division of Library and Information Services)

Amy and Cathy will provide an overview of and discussion on:

    • Procurement requirements under Florida Statutes
    • State contracts
    • Helpful resources
    • General contract language

12 PM ET (11 AM CT)
Lunch provided by PLAN

1 PM to 3 PM ET (12 PM to 2 PM CT)
E-Resources Jeopardy: I’ll take ‘Negotiating with Difficult Vendors’ for $100, Please with Elijah Scott, Rachel Erb, and Lisa Tatum of the Florida Academic Library Services Cooperative

Electronic resource subscription costs increasingly cannibalize library materials budgets to a degree that has eclipsed print materials. Therefore, negotiating for subscription and purchase prices are essential to the acquisitions process. We all have the same challenge: How do we subscribe to the highest quality e-resources while ensuring they fit within a materials budget that is either stagnant or has not kept up with inflation? Negotiating for prices can help, but many librarians are reluctant to actively negotiate with vendors. After all, vendor representatives are well-versed in sales tactics and continually hone their skill set in this area as required by their companies, while library professionals typically do not learn these skills in library school or even on the job. Florida Virtual Campus (FLVC) Library Services negotiates annually with more than 40 different vendors for access to more than 200 products. Join this session to learn more about the strategies and techniques that we deploy in order to build positive collaborative relationships with vendors while strategically maximizing the value of every scarce budget dollar.

PLAN events are available at no charge to Florida library staff and volunteers. These workshops will not be recorded. We will provide a continental breakfast and lunch for all registered attendees.

Registration is closed for this event.

For FY2021-22, 70% of the total costs for the PLAN Continuing Education program ($220,000) is supported by federal money, and 30% of this program ($92,991) is supported by state money. The total budget of the project is $312,991.