2022 Panhandle Academic Libraries Conference

Moving Forward, Leading Change

July 22, 2022 at the University of West Florida in Pensacola

Please join us for the fourth annual Panhandle Academic Libraries Conference. This conference is open to all library staff at no charge. Portions of the conference will also be available via livestream and post-event recordings.

Register Now

Breakfast and Registration (9 AM CT / 10 AM ET)

Welcome and Introductions (9:45 AM CT / 10:45 AM ET)

Keynote (10 AM CT / 11 AM ET)

The Promise of Flowers: Effective Library Services in a Post Pandemic World with Loretta Parham, CEO and Director of the Robert W. Woodruff Library – Atlanta University Center: The speaker will discuss critical steps for meaningful planning and implementation of a vision of excellence in library services.  The importance of focus and social awareness during traumatic periods in the lifecycle of the organization will be considered along with a look at how both the personal lives and professional role of librarians as leaders impact operations and influence opportunity. (Livestreamed and recorded)

Loretta Parham Bio

Register Now

Breakout Sessions (11 AM CT / 12 PM ET)

You Can Lead Them to the OER Water, But Will They Drink? Working with Instructors to Create Cost Free Courses with April Hines: This session will add to the current affordable textbook and OER conversation by bringing in the perspective of the subject librarian, describing the value of the in-depth faculty consultation, and describing how such an approach can increase faculty buy-in. (Livestreamed and recorded)

Going Dewey: Reclassifying a Curriculum Materials Collection to Enhance Usability with Christopher J. Levesque and Bianca Jimmerson: To simplify staff training and enhance resource sharing, University of West Florida’s Professional Studies Library reclassified its curriculum materials collection from a custom system to Dewey. This session examines the logistics, benefits, and challenges of the project.

Biology & Library Science: A GLO-ing Collaboration with Stephanie Johnson and Dr. Iris Knoebl: This session will allow attendees to ask questions regarding teaching faculty and library resources in an open forum. Collaborative measures and guidance will be available from both sides of the conversation.

Lunch (12 PM CT / 1 PM ET)

Breakout Sessions (1:15 PM CT / 2:15 PM ET)

Librarians at the First Line of Offense! with Stephanie Johnson: This session will help librarians see themselves as an intricate part of a student’s educational journey and allow them to learn from others’ successes and challenges. It will also provide attendees with the opportunity to voice their concerns. (Livestreamed and recorded)

Moving Past Imposter Syndrome with Cindy Gruwell: This informal session will allow librarians to discuss some of the most vulnerable moments they have experienced as professionals, and how we worked through our situations. We will come up with a list of tips useful for combating imposter syndrome.

Creating Your OER Toolbox with Rebel Cummings-Sauls: This session will review tools and resources available for supporting OER efforts. Attendees will be encouraged to develop an OER Toolbox of their own to take with them after the session. Speaker will cover ways that this toolbox can be used again to support your patrons at your library.

Breakout Sessions (2:20 PM CT / 3:20 PM ET)

Key Strategies and Resources for Running Dissertation Boot Camp & Writing Sessions at Academic Libraries with Kyung Kim, Rachel Duke, Jeff Phillips, and Kelly Grove: Dissertation Boot Camps are fast becoming a trend in academic libraries. We will address how we structured the Boot Camp around the life cycle of dissertation writing, and how we experimented with new topics for the Boot Camp. (Livestreamed and recorded)

Unconference: We’ll discuss your choice of topics as a group.

Explore: We’ll offer tours of UWF Archives and SkyLab/Media studio or you can stroll along the Edward Ball nature trail.

Closing Session (3:15 PM CT / 4:15 PM ET)

Register Now

CV / Resume Review Service

Need a CV or resume tune-up? The PALC Resume Review is here for you! Librarians from academic libraries, with various specializations, have volunteered to help you make your CV or resume shine! The on-site CV/Resume Review is open to anyone attending in person at the PALC 2022 Annual Conference at UWF. Interested? Sign up here for a slot!

Pre-Recorded Lightning Rounds

How the West Florida History Center Can Help Your Library and Clients with Dean DeBolt: The University Archives and West Florida History Center houses the largest research collection in existence covering the Panhandle region, and we show how its collections and staff are available to Panhandle libraries and their users.

How to Weed a Library by Yourself: Fielding Dust, a Fruit Loops Stash, and 20,000 Books with Jules Bailey: This session will be helpful to those who have a large weeding project and don’t know where to start. Weeding is especially important with the advent of ebooks, the growing popularity of eresources, and the changing nature of library space.

Burnout: It’s Not Just You, It’s Everyone, and You Should Talk about It with Thomas Jonte: Speaking more openly about burnout, the causes, and possible solutions creates a better work environment for all staff with less fear of feeling weak, cause for reprimand or hostility, or hesitancy and feelings of unease addressing the issue.

Register Now

Sponsored by: